User Name


Allama Iqbal Medical College Alumni Association of North America (AIMCAANA) was recognized in 1997 during the annual summer meeting of the Association of Pakistani Physicians of North America (APPNA) in New York. The alumni first un-official meeting was called by Dr. Atique A. Mirza in his hotel room. Dr. Mirza wrote the first constitution and bylaws, which were presented to APPNA in the summer meeting and AIMCAANA was officially incorporated as a component society of the APPNA. Dr. Mirza was chosen as the founding president and continued to work as president for the first four years making his home as alumni‘s first office. He started AIMCAANA’s first website and opened Alumni’s first bank account.

In 2000, the general body at the Atlanta summer meeting elected a new team of officers, Dr. Jalil A. Khan from Texas as president and Dr. Mahmood Alam from New York as president elect. Dr. Mirza worked hard to organize a winter meeting for the first time in the history of APPNA at our college on Silver Jubilee Anniversary of AIMC. Iqbalians were able to offer a state of the art CME program and brought AIMCAANA into the limelight.

In 2001, during his presidency, Dr. Jalil Khan updated the website, established a contact place for the members in his office at Flower Mound, Texas, expanded alumni bank account and also started to collect data of Iqbalians in USA. In July 2001, he invited AIMC Principal, Dr. Khalilur Rahman, to the annual meeting of the alumni in Chicago and further fosters the relationship with AIMC. Dr. Mahmood Alam presented the new bylaws for the association and new officers were elected.

The APPNA annual meeting in 2002 was a landmark in the history of AIMCAANA due to efforts of Dr. Mahmood Alam. Dr. Eice M. Khan, then CEO and dean of AIMC, was the chief guest with more than 60 members participated in the dinner and general body meeting, thus setting a new attendance record. AIMCAANA membership rolls stand at an all time high of 200 members. New officers were elected and approved the establishment of the executive office of alumni at Flower Mound, Texas, under the supervision of Dr. Jalil khan as Executive Director. Drs. Mumtaz Alvi, Jalil khan, and Atique A. Mirza were approved trustees of the association. The proposal to establish “Iqbalians Educational Trust Fund” was unanimously approved

In 2003, AIMCAANA emerged as a vibrant body of Iqbalians. Dr. Mahmood Alam and Dr. Sajid Chaudhary became members of the APPNA task force for visa problems. Dr. Chaudhary, president 2003, arranged a successful annual summer meeting in Orlando at Gaylord Palms Florida. General body approved the establishment of “AIMCAANA SCHOLARSHIP FUND” and many Iqbalians pledged $ 1000 each for the fund. Dr. Sajid Chaudhary also initiated Iqbalian’s E- list that attracted AIMC graduates across the globe.

The APPNA 2006 annual meeting saw Iqbalians progressing to another level showing true compassion, when within a few minutes AIMCAANA members pledged $175,000 for Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital and Research Center. This big achievement was result of then executive council and Dr Asad Qamar then president‘s hard work and perseverance to convince Imran Khan to become the chief guest.

Dr. Ashraf Sabhat president AIMCAANA 2007 continued the path to progress with another well attended successful meeting in Orlando. This year alumni reached another landmark when it conducted its first ever election using mail balloting. The progress continued in 2008 with another update to website, online iqbalians directory and publication of alumni’s first official newsletter AIMCAANA CONNECTION.

All Rights Are Reserved By:
Allama Iqbal Medical College
Alumni Association of North America